Ghostbusters Review

ghostbusters-2016-girlsWhy not – everyone else has “thoughts” about this movie, so let me show you mine.

Der Mann and I went to see it on the Sunday of its opening weekend, mostly because neither of us wanted to deal with crowded theaters on Friday or Saturday night. That said, I was surprised at how full the theater was, even on Sunday at noon.

I went in not really knowing what to expect. There have been rave reviews, meh reviews, and scathing reviews. As I don’t consider the original one of the seminal events of my teenage years (I think I was 15, maybe 16, when it came out?) I didn’t have much invested in it. I will say that I find the original difficult to watch as an adult because Bill Murray’s character (Venkman) skeeves me out so damn much with all his misogynistic, sexist posing. And yes, I’m aware that it’s supposed to be over-the-top, that it’s an exaggerated stereotype, and all the other defenses; doesn’t make it any less skeevy. Give me Egon’s brains or Ray’s enthusiasm any day. Still, I enjoy the premise of busting ghosts, and the out-and-out silliness of it, then and now.

As for me, I saw a pretty entertaining movie. It was funny, the effects were great, and there were a lot of nods and winks at the original. Many of the cameos were deft touches, except for Bill Murray, who always goes over the top. The bust of Egon outside Erin Gilbert’s office was a poignant touch.

That said, the movie wasn’t without flaws. There was some rushing of the story (really, how did the tour guide get out of the mansion?) and the character of Patty was underdeveloped. I will say, however, that she wasn’t left hanging out there on her own like Ernie Hudson’s Winston Zeddemore, thankfully. I loved that she was the historian of the group, and was able to tell them why ghosts were showing up at certain places. If there is a sequel, I want to see more of Patty and her historical knowledge.

Then there was Holtzmann. Oh, Holtzmann. Wonderful, wacky, weird – the real genius in the group. The reviews were correct – Kate McKinnon stole every scene she was in. There are no descriptors descriptive enough for Holtzmann. Go. Watch. See.

Chris Hemsworth was decidedly un-Thor-like as the ditzy dumb blond receptionist, Kevin. I swear, I think he based at least part of his performance on the Kevin the Minion (you can’t tell me you don’t get the reference). It was funny to see the stereotype turned around and the actor himself seemed to be having such fun with the character. (The behind-the-credits scene is not to be missed.)

After the movie, Der Mann and I saw a woman with two young girls, around 8 and 9, taking pictures with the stand-up display. Der Mann asked the children if they liked the film, and the answer was a loud and excited, oh-so-very enthusiastic, “Yes!”. For that alone, I’d consider this movie a success.

Leave a Reply

